The Book that Changed My Life

I remember driving down the I-10 highway from Los Angeles to Phoenix with an old friend. I mentioned the book to him before but I told him I wanted to read it aloud to him myself. I wanted to know that he understood how important this book was to me? Or maybe I just like reading to people. I pulled up the electronic version on my phone and started “The Alchemist.” I don’t remember how far I got into the book, but I started to tear up. It had to have been within the first chapter and I stopped reading shortly after. This was my second time reading it so it wasn’t some surprise plot line or heartbreaking beginning. I think the time that had passed between the first read and the car ride made the book even more powerful. It wasn’t just a passing of time, but a complete change in where I was in my life. It made me realize the importance of dreams. That may seem like such a vague answer, but this very book is what changed my perspective on dreams. It changed my perspective on intuition, on choices, on good omens along our life path.

The first time I read “The Alchemist” was probably a few weeks, maybe months into my first post-college job. It was more of a career, but I was far from happy or set on staying. I remember thinking to myself that the book and its teachings was everything I felt to be true but never had a way of putting into words, if that even makes sense. It was almost like what I believed in was written for me on the pages of that book. I might safely say it propelled me into the next chapter of my life.

A friend recently sent me the hard copy as a birthday gift. I gave it to one of my friends to read, and later she told me she heard it’s a book you read at different points in your life – that the book will show you something different each time. I started it again but stopped and haven’t had a chance to pick it back up. I know that it will forever be one of my most treasured books and one that I am grateful to have read.

I recommend it to anyone and everyone. Check out the book on Amazon..

Leave a Reply

